The league creator determines what the league's player pool is comprised of. The options are:
NOTE: This setting can only be changed BEFORE the league's draft begins.
All MLB Players - Default setting AL Players Only NL Players Only
Additionally, in an AL or NL only league, if a player is traded to another team, in the other league (AL to NL or vice versa) mid-season, that player will remain on your roster and continue to accrue points upon joining the new MLB team (even though that team is not in your league universe). If the player is subsequently traded to another team in your fantasy league, that player will still accrue points. Only when that player is dropped to waivers, will he be removed from the player universe for the league. An example of this would have been C.C. Sabathia leaving the American League Cleveland Indians for the National League Milwaukee Brewers in July of 2008.
Also, because of this rule, leagues will roster lock at the first game of the day even if it is a game in the other league that is that first game (ex. you play in an AL only league but first game of day is an NL game, or vice versa).
The league creator decides when an individual roster slot will lock. For example, if you have it set up to lock at individual game time, you have up until the player's scheduled game time to place him in the slot.
The league creator decides when team rosters lock. If your league has it set up to lock at first game of the match-up, then all free agents/waivers you pick up mid-week will not score any points for your roster until the following week. The league creator may change the Lineup locktime settings up until one hour prior to the draft. Lineup locktimes may NOT be modified once the league has drafted.
THE UNDROPPABLE PLAYERS LIST
The undroppable list is comprised of players who cannot be dropped to waivers at any time during the season. ESPN provides this feature to prevent collusion (In these cases, owners would be able to drop star players, allowing those first on the waiver wire to pick them up). League creators can choose if they want to allow owners to be capable of dropping all players or be prevented from dropping designated players. In LM leagues, this setting can be changed by the League Manager at any time during the season.
Yes - Default setting No
MAKE THE LEAGUE VIEWABLE TO THE PUBLIC
As the league creator you have the option to make your league viewable to the public.
- Yes - Your league will be set as Public. Public league creators and team owners can send their league URLs out in email (or post them on a message board) to have non-members view them. In public leagues, some pages (such as the list of team owners and the league message boards) are not viewable, but the main League Office, Standings and Team clubhouse pages are viewable.
- No - Your league is set as Private and every page (except League Settings) in your league will not be viewable by anyone other than team owners.